Recordings of Isaiah Berlin’s 1965 Mellon Lectures now available as free-to-access Podcasts

All six of Isaiah Berlin’s famous 1965 A. W. Mellon Lectures in the Fine Arts, which were delivered at the National Gallery of Art in Washington, DC, are now available on Oxford University's free-to-access Podcasts platform

The lectures were entitled ‘Some Sources of Romanticism’, and published posthumously as ‘The Roots of Romanticism’ ed. Henry Hardy. The latest edition, with a foreword by John Gray, was published by Princeton University Press in 2013.  The lectures are:

  1. In Search of a Definition
  2. The First Attack on Enlightenment
  3. The True Fathers of Romanticism
  4. Restrained Romantics
  5. Unbridled Romanticism
  6. The Lasting Effects


Isaiah Berlin Roots of Romanticism